European Neighbourhood Policy


The European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) is an initiative of the European Union encouraging Member States and their Southern and Eastern Neighbours to cooperate for stabilization, security and economic prosperity. The ENP Partner States to the East include: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine, and to the South: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia.

The revised ENP of November 2015 covers 4 main areas of interest: adequate governance, economic and social advancement, security and migration and mobility. In the face of current political issues and global threats, the program is based on the principles of resilience, differentiation among partner states, joint ownership and shared responsibility. The EU offers to ENP Partner States among others: greater access to the internal market, more job opportunities, policies for the respect of human rights, anti-terrorism policies, energy security and climate action programmes. The supporting initiatives will be implemented through the European Neighbourhood Instrument (ENI), managing a budget of 15 billion euro in the years 2014-2020.

See also: European Neighbourhood Policy Studies in Poland